Interning in the most magical place in the world – Part II

MugOfHannahJan31Hannah Chai, a hospitality management major on our campus, continues her story today about being an intern in Walt Disney’s World’s College Program.

Walt Disney World provided our apartments. They took rent out of our paychecks weekly, and we purchased our own food. They provided transportation to work and to the local Wal-Mart, although most of the things we needed were right outside of the apartment complexes, with outlet malls and lots of restaurants.

Disney had me “mousekeeping” at the All-Star Resorts. It was the most difficult job I ever had in my life, both physically and mentally! I lost 10 pounds just from the non-stop physical activity of bending over, lifting, cleaning and rushing. Being a people person, working 40 hours a week independently was a new change for me. For the most part, our guests were nice, but their rooms were a different story – sometimes they were pretty messy.

If there was a downside to the internship, it was that sometimes I found myself losing the magic. After working tHannahFeb1here and going
through some of the hardships, it started to sink in that Disney was an employer. While I was working for a magnificent organization, I was still working. Nonetheless, when I went into one of the parks, with free access of course, the magic rushed right back!

The parks were always a plus, but the biggest gift I believe I got was the unforgettable friends I made at Disney. There were many people there from different backgrounds and cultures. If it were not for the precious friends I made at Disney, my experience may not have been as grand. A few of us still communicate with each other, and I realize every day how much fun we actually had.

HannahForFeb1Throughout the whole experience, I definitely feel I have matured. At first, I thought I didn’t learn much from the internship other than how to clean rooms efficiently. But thinking about it now, I know I’ve learned so much more: what kind of manager I would and would not want to be, how the housekeeping system works, how to work with difficult people and more. But most importantly, I learned that giving respect means you will get respect right back.

I know that having Disney on my resume will take me far. Having learned what it is like to be a housekeeper, I know I will be more respectful to the housekeepers I may manage one day. I can’t say it was an easy experience, but it definitely was an amazing one. I hope people will take the time to consider doing the program.

4 thoughts on “Interning in the most magical place in the world – Part II

  1. Good day! I just want to offer you a big thumbs up for your excellent information
    you have got right here on this post. I will be returning to
    your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

