You’re homesick? Here’s what you can do about it.

Today’s post comes to you from our friend and awesome intern Alicia Hooks, a business management major from Washington, D.C.  

The first years of college can be tough, especially if you’re going to school away from home. Believe it or not, many students experience homesickness in one form or the other. I know I did. And even as a senior, I still occasionally miss home. I go to school about six hours away from where I live, which means it’s not always easy to load up my car and head home. So, I’m going to give you a few tips on how to deal with homesickness.

  • Call home.

                Sometimes it’s just as good hear their voice on the other line.

  • Teach your parents to text.

        While this can come back and bite you in the rear, it’s one of today’s easiest communication methods.

  • Download a free online communications program.

                You can download Skype, ooVoo, MeeboMSN Messenger, etc. These messaging services allow you to connect with your family for free. It’s also VERY helpful for when you or your parents are in different countries and need to communicate for FREE.

  • Write letters/email. 

        We live in a day and age where it’s easier to turn on a computer than it is to open up a letter, but sometimes sending things via “snail mail” helps you to feel more connected.

  • Make new friends.

        These people can help take your mind off of what you’re missing about home. At the same time, they can also be your ticket home.

  • Talk to your resident advisor.

        This person is also a student on campus, has gone through the same thing you have and are known as campus leaders.

  • Join clubs and participate in student activities.

        My freshman year, I joined so many clubs that I was too busy to think about what I missed by not being home.

  • Get off of campus.

        My friends and I used to frequently take trips to the reservoir just up the road from our campus, or we’d go on nature walks. Depending on how close you are to the bordering state/country, you and some friends can plan a trip. You can also go out to eat in the town/neighboring towns. This gives you the opportunity not only to see the area but also  the chance to relax and let go of campus stressors.

Those are some of my suggestions.  I hope this will help you get through the next phase of your life.

Leave a Reply

