Interning in the most magical place in the world – Part I

MugOfHannahJan31Today’s post is from Hannah Chai, a hospitality management major on our campus  and one of our delightful student workers, who spent last fall as an intern at Walt Disney World.

It all started when I was sitting in a hospitality class. Our professor had a guest speaker come in to tell us about his experience as an intern at Disney World. Just by his motivation and enthusiasm I knew this could be a wonderful opportunity for me. I could always use more experience, and it would help fulfill my practicum hours as part of the hospitality management major.

Once the class was over, I immediately rushed through the hallways to find a flier for the Disney College Program.

I went into a computer lab and applied online. A few days later I had an email telling me I needed to set up a time for a phone interview. After setting up the time and date, I researched interview tips and practiced possible questions and answers with a friend who also applied to the Disney College Program.

A person who had already completed the program suggested that I smile doing the interview. It sounds cliché, but it’s true; they can really hear it. They asked me some questions I was prepared for and some I didn’t think they would ask: Have you ever had a problem with your roommates, and if so how did you resolve this issue? The interviewer talked to me about possible positions and what my interests were. Based on that interview, they placed me in what they believed was a suitable position.

I became very nervous when I saw posts on Facebook from people who said they were denied. Many people said they were accepted and were rejected later because of senseless decisions they had made.  Luckily, I only waited five days, and then I got an acceptance letter. I was thrilled! I was accepted into the role of housekeeping, or as Disney may refer it to “mousekeeping!”HannahForJan31

One thing I definitely wasn’t prepared for was the fee. They gave me 10 days to pay $304, or I was automatically declining the offer. Fortunately, the money I had been saving was just enough to pay it off. The next thing I had to purchase was airfare, and I was well on my way.

Next: What Hannah’s internship was like.

11 thoughts on “Interning in the most magical place in the world – Part I

  1. Awesome blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any tips? Thanks!

    • Good morning, Chong. My recommendation for aspiring writers is to write. Write, write, write as often as you can. The more you write, the better you’ll get. Of course, you should also read as much as you can, too. This will expose you to new ways to express yourself verbally and help to increase your vocabulary.

      As for a platform, I’ve found WordPress easy to use.
      Good luck.
      Pat

  2. Nice blog right here! Also your web site a lot up fast!
    What host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your associate link for your host?

    I desire my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

Leave a Reply

